How many electricity companies are in Maharashtra?

How many electricity companies are in Maharashtra?

In accordance with Electricity Act 2003 of the Government of India, the Maharashtra State Electricity Board was restructured into 4 companies in 2005. These companies were registered with Company Registrar in Mumbai on 31 May 2005 as follows: MSEB Holding Company Limited.

What is the main source of electricity in Maharashtra?

MSEDCL’s sources of power include thermal, hydro, gas, and non-conventional sources like solar, wind, bagasse, etc. apart from hydropower of the Koyna Hydroelectric Project. Thermal power constitutes the major share which it gets from Mahagenco projects, Central Sector projects, and RGPPL.

Is Mseb listed?

Maharashtra State Electricity Board is not listed on BSE (View NSE)

What is discom name?

Distribution Companies (DISCOM)

Which company provides electricity in Maharashtra?

Currently, MSEDCL provides electricity throughout the State of Maharashtra and in few suburbs of Mumbai city and is considered to be one of the largest power distribution Company both in the country and in Asia, in terms of number of consumers and electricity supplied whereby it serves more than 2.70 Crores consumers …

Which is the biggest power plant in Maharashtra?

Chandrapur Super Thermal Power Station
Chandrapur Super Thermal Power Station, Maharashtra The Chandrapur Super Thermal Power Station is a 2,920MW power plant in Chandrapur, Maharashtra, India. It is the biggest power plant operated by the Maharashtra State Power Generation Company.

How many substations are there in Maharashtra?

Click on Tender Number to download List of Substations for respective circle.

Sr. No. Region Maximum Capacity circlewise (MW)
15 Rest of Maharashtra 50
16 Western Maharashtra 50
17 50
18 50

How many discoms are in UP?

Madhyanchal Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited (MVVNL)[3] – Lucknow Zone Discom. Pashchimanchal Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited (PVVNL)[4] – Meerut Zone Discom. Purvanchal Vidyut Vitaran Nigam Limited (PUVVNL)[5] – Prayagraj, Varanasi Zone Discom. Kanpur Electricity Supply Company (KESCO)[6] – Kanpur City Discom.

What are power DISCOMs?

Consequently, discoms, which are essentially geographical monopolies, were able to charge higher tariffs from commercial and industrial consumers to cross-subsidise agricultural and low-income households.

What is the second capital of Maharashtra?

The British East India Company took over Nagpur in the 19th century and made it the capital of the Central Provinces and Berar. After the first reorganisation of states, the city lost its capital status but according to the “Nagpur Pact” between political leaders it was made the second capital of Maharashtra.

Which is the capital of Maharashtra 2 marks?

Maharashtra is a state in India. Its capital is Mumbai. Maharashtra is one of India’s biggest commercial and industrial centres, and it has played a significant role in the country’s social and political life.

Which are the top 5 electricity supply companies in India?

2 Western Electricity Supply Company of Odisha Limited WESCO Odisha 3 Kerala State Electricity Board Limited KSEBL Kerala 4 Uttar Gujarat Vij Company Limited UGVCL Gujarat 5 Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Limited

When will the power tariff be revised in Maharashtra?

MERC has revised the power tariff from April 01, 2020, and it will continue to be in force until 2025. There are four power distribution companies in Maharashtra, MSEDCL, Adani Electricity Mumbai Ltd, Tata Power, and BEST. Here is the electricity unit price in Maharashtra.

Who pays the tax of electrical duty in Manipur?

Any tax of electrical duty is payable separately by the consumers in addition to the tariff. Here is the electricity unit price in Manipur. Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for Manipur and Mizoram determines the retail domestic electricity consumption tariff for both these states. Here is the electricity unit price in Mizoram.

Who decides the electricity tariff in Punjab and Haryana?

Punjab State Electricity Regulatory Commission decides the electricity tariff in Punjab for all consumers. Here is the electricity unit price in Haryana. Haryana Electricity Regulatory Commission stipulates the electricity tariff in Haryana State for all consumer categories.