Is Amarone a Della?

Is Amarone a Della?

Amarone della Valpolicella, usually known as Amarone (UK: /ˌæməˈroʊneɪ, -ni/, Italian: [amaˈroːne]), is an Italian DOCG denomination of typically rich dry red wine made from the partially dried grapes of the Corvina (45–95%, of which up to 50% could be substituted with Corvinone), Rondinella (5–30%) and other approved …

What makes Amarone special?

‘In broad strokes: Amarone from Classico tends to be the most elegant and aromatic, versions from the Valpantena are generally lighter and fruitier, while the so-called ‘extended’ zone (beyond Classico and Valpantena, bordering on the Soave) tends to produce richer, more muscular wines with a higher alcohol level. ‘

How many types of Amarone are there?

3 Styles
3 Styles of Amarone Amarone is produced in 16 designations throughout three main subregions of Valpolicella— Classico, Valpentana, and “Est” (extended zones)—and classified into three different styles: Normale, Riserva, and Recioto. Normale: Normale Amarone ages for a minimum of two years.

How long should an Amarone wine breathe?

If the nose is blocked, 20 minutes of decanter will be enough, for the most important wines you can wait even 40 minutes. To avoid mistakes I recommend that you taste the wine every 20 minutes: you can really feel how it changes over time!