What is the difference between ELCA and Missouri Synod Lutherans?

What is the difference between ELCA and Missouri Synod Lutherans?

The ELCA is less conservative than the Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod (LCMS) or the more conservative Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS), the second and third largest Lutheran bodies in the United States, respectively.

What is an elder in the Lutheran Church?

An Elder in the Lutheran Church is a position of lay-service, concerned with the temporal and administrative affair of the congregation. In many congregations, elders are also charged with oversight of the pastor but exercising only that oversight given to every Christian in the congregation.

What churches allow female pastors?

Many, including the Episcopal Church and the United Methodist Church, now allow women to be bishops and hold other top leadership positions. In 2006, for instance, the Episcopal Church, for the first time, elected a woman, Katherine Jefferts Schori, to be its presiding bishop, the church’s highest office.

Does the ELCA support abortion?

Evangelical Lutherans at their first legislative assembly have decided to maintain a neutral position on abortion after first adopting a resolution that some delegates viewed as advocating abortion rights.

What does the ELCIC do?

NEW! ELCIC Annual Report (2018) The mission of this church, as an expression of the universal Church and as an instrument of the Holy Spirit, is to bring the Gospel of Jesus Christ to people in Canada and around the world through the proclamation of the Word, the administration of the Sacraments and through service in Christ’s name.

Are there any retired pastors in Alberta and the territories?

There are many pastors either serving or retired on the roster of the Synod of Alberta and the Territories. Many of the retired clergy actively serve as interim pastors when there are parishes not currently served by a pastor.

How is the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada organized?

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada is organized geographically by five synods. The five synods of the ELCIC: British Columbia Synod Synod of Alberta and the Territories Saskatchewan Synod:

What is the synod like?

The Synod is served by three full-time staff, three part-time staff, and about thirty or more volunteers serving through various Ministry Teams (program committees) and Synod Council Committees. Synod office hours; Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. Closed Fridays in July and August, as well as all Statutory holidays.