What makes a movie NC16?

What makes a movie NC16?

In 1993, a new rating – NC16 (No Children under 16) was introduced to protect children from viewing films thematically unsuitable for them, and to bridge the gap between PG and R21.

What is the difference between M and MA?

M films are recommended for people aged 15 or older. A person needs to be 15 or older to see an MA 15+ film. The content is strong and unsuitable for people aged under 15. However people under 15 can see an MA 15+ film if accompanied by their parent or an adult guardian.

How are movies rated in Singapore?

Films and videos G (general) – Suitable for all ages. PG (parental guidance) – Suitable for most but parents should guide their young. PG13 (parental guidance 13) – Suitable for persons aged 13 and above but parental guidance is advised for children below 13.

Can a 16 year old watch M18?

For your convenience, please note that in accordance with the Singapore law, movie viewers must meet the minimum qualifying age to watch movies with the respective ratings as follows: NC16 – Not for Children below 16 years of age. M18 – Mature audiences aged 18 years and above only.

Why is film classification necessary?

Movie ratings provide parents with advance information about the content of movies to help them determine what movies are appropriate for their children at any age. After all, parents are best suited to knowing each of their children’s individual sensitivities and sensibilities to pick movies for them.

What is the difference between M18 and R21?

M18 Depictions of violence and gore with strong details. Infrequent depictions of torture with strong details. Non-explicit depictions of sexual violence. R21 Frequent depictions of violence and gore with strong details.

Does the Classification Act require consumer advice on Film Classification?

9.47 The Classification Act currently requires the Board to provide consumer advice for all films and computer games it classifies, with the exception of content classified G (for which consumer advice is optional) and RC (consumer advice is unnecessary for RC content, because the content is illegal to sell, exhibit or otherwise distribute).

What does consumer advice mean in a classification marking?

Consumer advice 9.46 ‘Consumer advice’ refers to the words that appear alongside the classification marking, and is designed to give specific information about the content, for example ‘Strong violence’ or ‘Moderate coarse language’.

Do you have to give consumer advice on voluntarily classified content?

9.57 Voluntarily classified content would not be required to carry consumer advice, though content providers would nevertheless be encouraged to do so. In this context, a classification decision is sufficient information, given that it is provided over and above what is required by law.

Is consumer advice compulsory on programmes?

Consumer advice is compulsory for all MA15+ and one-off programmes, as well as very short series classified M or higher (such as feature films, miniseries and documentaries ). When a programme carries consumer advice, appropriate abbreviations are displayed along with the classification symbol after each commercial break.