What cities are in East Coast of NZ?

Story: East Coast places

What cities are in East Coast of NZ?

Story: East Coast places

  • Click to find out more.
  • East Cape.
  • Waiapu River valley.
  • Te Puia Springs and Tokomaru Bay.
  • Tolaga Bay.
  • Whāngārā to Kaiti.
  • Gisborne.
  • Poverty Bay flats.

Is Auckland on the east coast of New Zealand?

The East Coast, also known as Eastland or the Gisborne Region, lies around and south of the East Cape of the North Island of New Zealand. It lies between the Bay of Plenty and Hawke’s Bay….Popular Destinations in North Island.

Auckland Wellington
Auckland Region Greater Wellington

Is Gisborne on the east coast?

It is named after its largest settlement, the city of Gisborne. The region is also commonly referred to as the East Coast. The region is commonly divided into the East Cape and Poverty Bay….Gisborne District.

Gisborne District Te Tairāwhiti
Website GDC.govt.nz

Is Hawkes Bay on the east coast?

Hawke Bay (formerly named Hawke’s Bay) is a large bay on the east coast of the North Island of New Zealand. It stretches from Māhia Peninsula in the northeast to Cape Kidnappers in the southwest, a distance of some 100 kilometres (62 mi).

Where is the East Coast of the North Island New Zealand?

The East Coast, also known as Eastland, lies around and south of the East Cape of the North Island of New Zealand. It lies between the Bay of Plenty and Hawkes Bay. This part of New Zealand was the first to be sighted and explored by Captain Cook and the crew of HMS Endeavour in 1769.

Is Auckland on the east coast or west coast?

The central part of the urban area occupies a narrow isthmus between the Manukau Harbour on the Tasman Sea and the Waitematā Harbour on the Pacific Ocean….Auckland.

Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau (Māori)
Island North Island
Region Auckland
Settled by Māori c. 1350
Settled by Europeans 1840

Why is Auckland called Auckland?

It was established in 1840 by Gov. William Hobson as the capital of the colonial government and was named for George Eden, earl of Auckland, British first lord of the Admiralty and later governor-general of India.

Why is Gisborne called Gisborne?

The district council has its headquarters in Whataupoko, in the central city. The settlement was originally known as Turanga and renamed Gisborne in 1870 in honour of New Zealand Colonial Secretary William Gisborne.

What region is Nelson?

Nelson is the largest city in the northern South Island, and is also the name of the region to its south and west. Visitors enjoy its sunny weather, beaches, mountains and three national parks (Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes).

Is Taupo in Hawkes bay?

The regional council area consists of the territorial authorities of Wairoa District, Hastings District, Napier City, and its southernmost district, Central Hawke’s Bay District, plus the localities of Taharua in the Taupo District and Ngamatea in the Rangitikei District.

Is it Hawke Bay or Hawkes bay?

Nowadays the body of water is called Hawke Bay, while the region is called Hawke’s Bay. The difference stems from the authorities and histories behind the official names. The name of the original Hawke’s Bay Province was gazetted on 1 November 1858, when it split from the Wellington Province.

Where is the east coast in New Zealand?

The East Coast is a relatively isolated region of New Zealand, with just two state highways linking it to the rest of the country. It covers both the sparsely populated East Cape and Tūranganui-a-Kiwa / Poverty Bay, which has more residents and includes the city of Gisborne.

What is the history of the East Coast Maori?

Māori tribes have long lived in the region. It is home to the tribes of Ngāti Porou, Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki, Rongowhakaata and Ngai Tāmanuhiri. There are many traditions associated with the East Coast, including the story of Paikea, who arrived from Hawaiki on the back of a whale.

What is the east coast known for?

The East Coast was where Māori and Europeans first met, on the site of present-day Gisborne. This isolated region is known for its long and rich Māori history and heritage, its excellent surf beaches and its pleasant climate. Skip to main content Search View Te Ara in English Māori Stories A-Z Te Reo Māori Biographies More… View Te Ara in English

How many marae are there in the east coast?

The East Coast has a strong Māori heritage, and has been home to many Māori performing artists. There are 62 maraein the region. Well-known writers from the region include Witi Ihimaera, whose novel Whale riderwas set in the East Coast village of Whāngārā.